Johann Friedrich Fasch: Notes and Commentary

Johann Friedrich Fasch was a German violinist and composer. His works include cantatas, concertos, symphonies, and chamber music. None of his pieces were printed in his lifetime, and a large number of his vocal works, including four operas, have been lost. However, he was held in high regard by his contemporaries (Johann Sebastian Bach made manuscript copies of a number of his pieces), and he is today considered an important link between the Baroque and Classical periods.

Fasch died in Zerbst at the age of 70. He was the father of Carl Friedrich Christian Fasch, also a musician of note. The city of Zerbst/Anhalt has been hosting International Festivals since 1983, biennially since 1993. The Twelfth International Fasch Festival took place in Zerbst in April 2013 and the included the unveiling of a memorial to him. He lived from April 15, 1688, to December 5, 1758).

Johann Friedrich Fasch Books and Music
More on Fasch
Back to home page


Comments are closed.